Story of a door

This is the story of a door. An ugly, mauve-ish door—that is no more. I’ll let the photos and captions tell the tale.

Before, when it was red with the storm door on and after.

To the left you can witness the before, when it was mauve-ish. To the right we have the end result of a lot of stripping and sanding.

And we are stripping.

And we are stripping. We use Citristrip for paint removal. It doesn’t have all the bad chemicals in it.

Stripping

And stripping.

It is like Ronald McDonald's face melted.

It’s like Ronald McDonald’s face melted.

Still stripping.

Still stripping.

Still stripping.

Still stripping.


Still stripping. Finally, you can see wood.

Still stripping. Finally, you can see wood.


8

Blah

Blah

Finally, the paint is pretty much gone. Now to sand.

Finally, the paint is pretty much gone. Now we sand.

I ran out of time and had to put the door back on partly sanded.

I ran out of time and had to put the door back on partly sanded.

Under all the paint were several holes where old peep holes had been. I plugged them with a dowel.

Under all the paint were several holes where old peep holes had been. I plugged them with a dowel.

Back to sanding on another day.

Back to sanding on another day.

I also stripped all the paint off of the hinges.

I also stripped all the paint off of the hinges.

And painted them metallic silver so they looked like stainless steel hinges. Works for now and doesn't cost any money.

And painted them metallic silver so they looked like stainless steel hinges. They will most likely eventually chip, since it is painted brass, but it works for now and doesn’t cost any money.


15

All sanded!

All sanded!

 

And all coated. I used Cabot's as recommended by Linda down at Cottin's hardware

And all coated. I used Cabot’s as recommended by Linda down at Cottin’s hardware.

I went ahead and redid the oak thresh hold while I was at it.

I went ahead and redid the oak thresh hold while I was at it.

All done. Hey, nice house numbers.

All done. Hey, nice house numbers.

2 responses to “Story of a door

  1. you had me at “stripping” and “peep holes”. that was a lot of work but the final product looks great!

  2. that looks fantastic mang.

Leave a Reply

