House numbers

Our neighbors put up some nice mid-century house numbers, which gave us house number envy as we had no house numbers. I looked into buying some but nice,  mid-century numbers cost more than I was willing to spend. During my number search I found another blog where the guy had made his own numbers. He even provided the template. So I set out to copy him. The cost was zero since I had all the stuff already. A little digging through the wood pile, a little digging through the paint cabinet and a little digging through the nail/screw cabinet.

pattern stuck down, clamped, and ready for surgery.

Pattern slapped down, clamped, and ready for surgery.

I used a combination of hole saw and jig saw to cut out the numbers.

I used a combination of hole saw and jig saw to cut out the numbers.

Rough cut.

Rough cut.

Time for some sanding.

Time for some sanding.

Using the Dremel for refinement and smoothing.

Using the Dremel for refinement and smoothing.

Shaping the round parts. Once I got it smoother, I decided not to sand with a finer grit as this was looking like a brushed steel texture to me.

Shaping the round parts. Once I got it smoother, I decided not to sand with a finer grit as this was kind of looking like a brushed steel texture.

Not bad. Close up it isn't exact, but you won't be this close to them.

Not bad. Close up it isn’t exact like a machined number, but you won’t be this close to them.

From here, they seem passable for store bought, metal numbers.

From here, they seem passable for store-bought, metal numbers. And from the street, you wouldn’t even have a clue.

3 responses to “House numbers

  1. sweet! and from my house, i really don’t have a clue cause i can’t see that far.

  2. Pingback: Story of a door | 1927 Countryside Lane

  3. Michelle Sumovich

    Whoa! I think we might take a stab at this. Looks awesome!!

Leave a Reply

