Tranny love

Not that kind of tranny, that is a whole different post. So I had to replace the transmission in the truck. I had never done that before. It seemed like something I could do, but I was on the fence about it. That’s when My friend Rob said, “I’ll help you.” He is a mechanic so I said hell yes to that. In the end it was unbelievably simple. The hardest part is the weight of the transmission and the awkwardness of positioning it. They really should make handles on these things so you can get a kung fu grip on it. It is one heavy S.O.B with no good spots to grab onto. I stuck to Rob’s advice of, “whatever you do, don’t drop it on your hand.” If you make it to the end there is a video of me driving  with no floor board and you can see my tranny in action. “My tranny in action,” that sounds funny. I shifted, steered AND took the video all by myself. I never said I was a responsible person.

1

This is After the old tranny was out. We brought it up through the floor. With a floor jack underneath we unbolted it, pulled it back, then jacked it up to where we could muscle it out.

2

Another angle. We didn’t even have to take the bell housing off.

5

Here is the old one after being pulled out.

IMG_7223

Here is the rebuilt one about to go back in. Nice and shiny.

IMG_7229

Muscled back in, dropped into place and being bolted back up.

IMG_7232

This mutha is all in. Leaving the floorboard off until I know it works.

IMG_7230

We took the door off to help maneuver the transmissions in and out. Plus I needed to put a new hinge on.

2 responses to “Tranny love

  1. it was a perfect vehicle to do a fred flintstone stop with your bare feet. but noooooo…

Leave a Reply

